Reconciliation

It has been many moons since Dave K. wrote a post for Broken Spines (like Bret Michaels, he’s gone solo with his own blog).

But, over lunch the other day, Dave was telling us about his spring break trip to New Orleans.  He and a bunch of high school students volunteered and helped build houses for Habitat for Humanity.  He was clearly moved by the experience.  And, as he was describing the experience it occured to me that even though our government may have failed New Orleans, Americans like Dave have not. 

In spite of all that is wrong with our government (endless war) and economy (Bear Sterns) it is acts of selflessness and kindness like Dave’s that remind me what a great country we live in.

Here are a couple of Dave’s photos that I really like:

abundance.jpg

I couldn’t help but come up with some titles: catawumpus (I had to look up the spelling)

hammers.jpg

e pluribus unum

1 Response to “Reconciliation”


  1. 1 Dave K. March 21, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    I’m not sure who posted that but I’m going to assume it’s Mike because, a) he has a tendency to forget tagging his name on his posts and, b) he seems to be the only one posting here recently. 🙂 So, thanks Mike!

    To be clear, I was there strictly as the photographer. I can’t take credit for any of the work that was done be the school kids. However, I contributed indirectly by documenting the trip for everyone and, hopefully, inspiring them and others to return next year.

    I always find it interesting the photos people pick as favorites. The Abundance photo, when I took it, I knew would be a keeper. But I was actually somewhat disappointed when the true state of the devastation was not as apparent in the photo as it had been in person. Nontheless, it must be at least visible in order for you to have picked it, and that is reassuring!

    Catawampus, huh? Is that more a figurative title, contextually related to the photo, or is it more compositionally derived? I sure hope it’s the former. If it’s the latter, you must have gotten sea sick looking at my photos! I almost NEVER hold the camera level 🙂

    And, Hammer Flower. That was a fun one. I like your Latin take on it, too.

    BTW, I just now posted again to my blog with more photos (non-kid related) of my wanderings around New Orleans…


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 90,849 hits

