May Thy Enemies Be Dispersed

A 55 year-old with a metal detector found 1,500 pieces of Anglo-Saxon booty in a field in Birmingham, England. Archaeologists say this is a staggering discovery and will redefine perceptions of Anglo-Saxon England (5th century AD to the Norman conquest of 1066).

As I read the AP report of this find, I was struck by a of small strip of gold (pictured below) inscribed with a warlike Latin quotation from the Old Testament, which translates as:

“Rise up, O Lord, and may thy enemies be dispersed and those who hate thee be driven from thy face.”

Makes me think of a Samuel Jackson as a medieval Anglo-Saxon quoting Ezekiel 25:17:  

…I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know I am the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon you.

staffordshirehoard

1 Response to “May Thy Enemies Be Dispersed”


  1. 1 Steve Wiggins September 25, 2009 at 6:43 am

    Interesting connection with Pulp Fiction (I mention it in my blog)! To me it once again signals the connection between religion and violence. That is undoubtedly its connotation in Numbers 10 where the quote actually occurs. Nice post!


Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 90,579 hits

