Our Dour Disposition

In Annie Hall, Woody Allen’s character tells the story of two elderly women at a Catskill mountain resort:

and one of ’em says, “Boy, the food at this place is really terrible.” The other one says, “Yeah, I know; and such small portions.” Well, that’s essentially how I feel about life – full of loneliness, and misery, and suffering, and unhappiness, and it’s all over much too quickly.

There are a lot of people of Nordic descent in Minnesota, and we have a similarly grim outlook on life. Perhaps it’s because of the weather, or our Lutheran reluctance to enjoy life too much. Well, I let myself get a little carried away with the Vikings success and now I’m mad at myself for getting my hopes up that the Vikings would actually get back to the Super Bowl.

With a cold wind and snow in my face as I walked to the train this morning, I swore never to get my hopes up again.

0 Responses to “Our Dour Disposition”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 90,579 hits

