The Blue Jewel on the River

We saw the Twilight Hours play a great show at the Guthrie last night. My wife and I were fans of Trip Shakespeare back in the day. Now, John Munson and Matt Wilson are, like us, twenty years older playing a venue like the Guthrie.  In fact, our kids go to the same school as Munson’s – so we see him at school events – which is weird. But, as accomplished musicians, they want to play at the premier venue in Minneapolis, the blue jewel on the river, The Guthrie.

And, the venue raises a dilemma: what do you wear and how do you behave at a rock concert in a venue like the Guthrie?

First of all, I think the venue calls for dressing a little nicer. Granted it’s a rock concert, but it’s a rock concert at the Guthrie. Second, it’s okay that it’s quiet. I was able to savor the subtle sounds you could never hear at First Ave for the murmur of the crowd. Third, we’re in an auditorium, everyone has their own seat—there’s no need rub elbows and bump the person next to you.

For some reason, the guy next to me would not only take the arm rest, but put his elbow 2-3 inches over into my space! The further I would recoil and lean into my wife, the more space he would take. So, then it became a turf war. I reasserted the boundary by firmly planting my elbow on half of the arm rest. This made him agitated and he kept shifting and moving and bumping me.

Anyhow, I thought it would be worth drawing up a chart and reminding guests to “turn off you cell phones, and mind the personal space between you and your neighbor. Thank you.”

0 Responses to “The Blue Jewel on the River”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 90,379 hits

